Importing caches: "Overwrite" option confusing; really means "Merge"

Viajero Perdido shared this problem 1 year ago
Solved

Hi. It took me two years to finally figure this out.


If you import a Pocket Query every week, and want the logs to accumulate inside Locus (have the newest logs added to the ones already inside Locus), then you need to 1) choose to not empty the folder first of course, then 2) select OVERWRITE when you see "Point with the same name is already in database".


It took some experimenting to discover that the "OVERWRITE" option actually merges the new data with the older data, eg, exactly what I wanted.


The word "OVERWRITE" suggests that all existing data will be removed, and replaced with the new data. Since this appears to not be the case, may I suggest the option be named "MERGE" instead. MERGE clearly suggests adding, not replacing.


(I couldn't find this discussed in the docs anywhere, so interpretation of this one word is crucial.)


Thanks, VP

Comments (9)

photo
1

Hello Viajero

i also agree to rename this "option"

but keep in mind that geocache data inside PQ only include last 5 logs, so if a geocache is logged more than 5 times since your last PQ download, logs<5 are not available in your device till you run "update cache"

Wolfgang

photo
1

I understand that part, thanks. I may not get all the logs with this technique, but sometimes having 17 or 22 in the field is more useful than just 5.

(If it was really important to me, I'd have figured it out much sooner, of course.)

photo
photo
1

Good day guys,

Viajero, your observation is correct only partially. This function really "OVERWRITES" data, not merge them. But there is optional settings in menu > settings > geocaching > "Keep data during import", which just for caches, change this "overwrite" into "merge".

So I see only option to dynamically change "overwrite" and "merge" text based on which point (basic, geocache) is currently importing and also if mentioned settings is enabled or not. Not sure if it won't be even more confusing .. once will be visible "overwrite", once "merge" ...

photo
1

Hmm, I didn't realize there was that complication.


How about "UPDATE" instead of "OVERWRITE" then? I think "UPDATE" would cover all the cases, and would avoid the confusion I encountered.

photo
1

Hmm, not sure about it ...


Instead I've updated dialog and added extra text on the end, in case of "Keep GC data during import" enabled. Hope this helps at least little, to avoid confusion.


47032f74139c50c1a72b42fb84f5860e

photo
1

That clears up the OVERWRITE confusion, thanks.


But now, honestly, I'm confused about what IGNORE does. (I think I always have been.) By process of elimination, it must mean, "replace what's currently there", because the other two buttons cover the other two cases. Meaning, in my mind, the three buttons mean REPLACE, SKIP, and UPDATE. If I understand it correctly.


I'm not familiar with the other use case (non-geocache), so I'm not sure how best to arrange this.

photo
1

Imagine you have database of 10.000 petrol stations and all are named "Agip", nothing more. If you import this file, Locus will complain that point with same name already exists. But it is OK, you wants to import all these points, even if they have same names ... so you press "Ignore". More precisely, it means "Ignore this warning and just import it".

photo
1

My head is spinning. I totally misinterpreted "IGNORE". I thought it meant, ignore the previous data, not ignore the warning. Can both use cases really use the same dialog?

(I know some jokers who create multiple geocaches with the exact *same* name. Would those trigger this message, or are those actually stored by GC code?)

I couldn't find this dialog documented in the help (hint hint), otherwise I might not have even brought up the subject.

And I hate to leave in the middle of a conversation, but I'll be going off-grid shortly for the weekend. Sorry; I'll be back.

photo
1

Good day Viajero,

I'm closing this topic, because I now believe that whole system is clear to you. I appreciate your feedback ... for me, main information is, that when we will do some updates in "import dialog & import system", we may do this better, somehow :).

Thanks and have a nice day.

photo