Can't swipe down in Locus map Watch op new Galaxy Watch 4

Yves Roblain shared this problem 22 days ago
Known

On the new Galaxy Watch 4, you can't swipe down in the Locus Map Watch App. Swiping down open the quick settings panel...

Any suggestions how to work around this, or is there any hope for a fix?

Kind Regards,

Yves

Replies (3)

photo

Hello Yves,

any updates regard Wear/Gear watches are currently paused due to the lack of developer who should take care of it. So sorry, a fix is currently not possible. This new Samsung + Wear OS system looks very promising so we will be definitely watching it. Thanks for understanding.

Jiří M. aka Menion

photo

Is this the current source code to the WearOS app?

photo

Hello Marek,

this is correct. It should be current state of WearOS add-on.

Menion

photo

Cool, thank you for making it public!

So, if I (or anyone) sent you a patch, would you be able to review and publish it?

I am new to Android/WearOS development but I wrote a mapping app for Tizen not long ago. I'm thinking about getting the Galaxy Watch 4 and switching to WearOS, so would be interested to have a look.

photo

I checked out the code and got it running on an emulator with Wear OS API 30, all running well so far.

Yves - I assume the problem you have is that you cannot access the main menu (where you select between the map screen and the track recording screen) because the same gesture opens the quick settings?

photo

Hello Marek,

that is exactly the issue. Would be great if you manage to fix that! If you need a tester with a physical device, I am your man.

photo

Great! Like I said, I'm fairly new to this so can't promise anything at this point, but I'll have a look. The best way I can think of right now would be to make that menu the default screen when starting the app and then either have a button on the map screen or the physical back button take you there, instead of the down swipe.