Backup restoration lost after sync

vsespb shared this problem 4 months ago
Known

steps to reproduce:

1. I accidentally deleted wrong tack (and synced this state with web).

2. restored yesterday's backup (only tracks checkbox)

3. track now restored

4. Next I make sync with web.


Expected behaviour: web now to restored to state from backup.

Actual behaviour: restored track deleted again. State restored to state that was in web.

Replies (4)

photo
1

Hi vsespb,

this is known behavior. Each item in our system has unique id which is also included in the backup. Once you restore data there is comparison of modification times of your local version and server version. The newest version wins. This is the reason why your data from backup are deleted ...

Kind regrds, Ondrej

photo
1

But you might add a feature to "fix" it. Say, during backup restoration, update modification time for all items in local version to restoration time.

photo
1

also you can put a warning in UI during restoration, if this not fixed.

photo
1

Hi vsespb,

thank you very much for your suggestions. We will discuss it within team. Hopefully we will agree on some simple and working solution :)


Kind regards, Ondrej

Leave a Comment
 
Attach a file