Stop and pause on notification

Roland Gifford shared this question 52 days ago
Answered

The tracking notification sometimes has stop and pause buttons on it and sometimes it doesn't. I would like to have to option to always suppress them. Last week I accidentally deleted 16 hours tracking by accidentally tapping the stop button - either that or Locus lost the track on its own without my help.

Replies (6)

photo
1

Hello,

the "Stop" and "Pause" options are always there, but they are visible only if the notification is expanded.

In the collapsed state, they are hidden.

dacd540456528f7b5e0019fc1ea64d1a

So if you avoid expanding the notification, it should be safe.

Regards,


Zdenek, Locus team

photo
1

I'm unfamiliar with expanded or non-expanded notifications. All I see is a stop button sometimes and sometimes not without knowing what I may have done to make that difference. It clearly isn't safe as this behaviour has resulted in the complete loss of a days tracking. If I want to stop tracking I only need to tap the notification to show Locus then stop/save.

photo
1

Hello,

for clarification - was the record completely deleted or just saved prematurely?

If you press the STOP button (it doesn't mater if from notification or in app) it only show dialog where you have to set the name of the record etc. If this dialog doesn't appear, you have probably set the "auto-save" and the route is saved somewhere.

If route isn't save at all, that there is another problem which has nothing to do with notification.

Thank you for clarification.


Zdenek, Locus team

photo
1

I'm happy to believe that the deleted track was caused by accidental 'pocket taps' on my phone and not something else. I had turned on notifications on the lock screen which was a significantly bad choice on my part. I've turned that off now.

My Redmi Note 10 Pro running Android 12 and MIUI 13 doesn't have the option to expand notifications. The first one is expanded and the others aren't, hence the stop/pause sometimes being visible and sometimes not

photo
1

Hello,

Locus should always display the screen where the route is named and saved/discarded (if you don't have turned auto-save on).

If not, please try to discover how to simulate this behavior.

If you want to be sure, that the accidentally stopped recording will be saved, you can try the auto-save function.

Regards,


Zdenek, Locus team

photo
1

Auto save goes part way towards addressing the problem but doesn't actually fix it. With auto save a single accidental tap will stop recording but won't lose the track so far.

Not having the buttons on the notification at all is the only solution which works properly rather than being a fudge to get round it.

Leave a Comment
 
Attach a file