Locus does not find addresses as good as Google Maps

druki shared this problem 3 months ago
Not processed

When I get an address from an other Application or someone tells me an addres which I want to find in Locus to save it as a POI or navigate to it, Locus often fails. The same search in Google Maps shows the correct result of location.

I as a user have no clue why this happens.

Exampleaddress:

Kosta’s Restaurant

Voräcker Gewann 12

70567 Stuttgart-Möhringen

So as an expert, I assume that if Locus only expects and searches for certain address strings, some of the input could hinder it in finding the correct address. In the Example, the restaurants name could hinder Locus. And the area of the city (Möhringen) could hinder Locus. So maybe for some user it is maybe clear that you are only allowed to give search strings that exactly match one field of information of an address and that the information must not be contaminated by other informations that hinder a good search result.

I tried searching the example address with cleaning up some information and searched for

"Voräcker Gewann 12

70567 Stuttgart"

... but this only leads to the center of the ZIP code (Möhingen, an area of city Stuttgart).

The interesting part of the bug starts right now: If I accidently know the place and create a POI in Locus and have a look at the address, it shows me some details that confused the search and by which locus can not find the location to the address.

So basically the bug is: There is an inconsistency between address locations and search capabilities which strongly affect the usability of Locus. The application is not intuitive.