Livre Tracking, buddy walking nearby does not see my live position in LocusMap screen

Tristan Stanic shared this question 2 months ago
Answered

Hi,

Me and my buddy tried out Live Tracking today. The setup is:

  • Both use Locus Map Pro 3.39.4, Android Pie
  • Both have data on, internet working correctly in the area
  • Use the same route
  • I enabled Live Tracking (Public group)
  • My buddy doesn't enabled Live Tracking

During the hike, I can see my shared position in my own LocusMap screen. However my buddy doesn't see my position in his LocusMap screen. If one of us get lost, my buddy would not know where I am located.

I did see myself in https://live-tracking.locusmap.app/online-trackers/ using the browser. But without the route that I am following.

Google map "Location sharing" could do the same in better (private recipients, time limit, link to access the buddy position).

I would expect that Locus Map would show the live position of the buddy directly on the Locus Map screen. What are the advantages of Locus Live Tracking over Google map Location sharing?

Comments (2)

photo
1

Hi Tristan,

"buddy doesn't see my position in his LocusMap screen"

- so that your buddy sees you during live-tracking, he has to have his live-tracking ON too

"I did see myself in https://live-tracking.locusmap.app/online-trackers/ using the browser. But without the route that I am following."

- the track of your movement is displayed only in Locus Map, not on the web

"Google map "Location sharing" could do the same in better (private recipients, time limit, link to access the buddy position)."

- private recipients are possible also in Locus via Live Tracking Premium (https://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=manual:user_guide:functions:live_tracking#share_with_a_new_group)

- time limit? What is it? Could you please give me more details?

- link to access buddy position - in Locus, open the left content panel > nearest points > select Live Tracking users from topbar menu > tap your buddy

if you choose Locus Map or Google, it's up to you. For Locus users, it's of course better to use Locus live tracking - you see your buddies and their tracks on Locus screen, on your favourite map with your routes and points.

best regards

Michal, Locus team

photo
1

Hi Michal,

Thanks for the info. Indeed, this makes Locus Live tracking in Locus Map more interesting than Google Location sharing (see my buddy position on my Locus map screen). I didn't know both of us must enable Live Tracking. Was thinking in terms of "Google Location sharing" where only the person who wants to broadcast his position is the one who activates the function.

The reason the buddy disabled Live Tracking was b/c he was doing the recording and put the phone in airplane mode to save battery. Only leaving airplane mode when he needs to find me.

BTW, In Left panel | Nearest Points. When "Basic Points" Category is enable. I don't see the Live Tracked users. When "Basic Points" is unchecked. The users are displayed and can be selected. Is it intentional?

> time limit? What is it? Could you please give me more details?

Google Location sharing. There is a slider about the duration you want to share your location. For example if you set 2 hours and share that to N persons. The N persons to whom Google will email the tracking link will only see your position on their Google Map within the 2 hours starting from the moment you started the Location sharing. This is intended to avoid that you are tracked forever.

BTW, Locus Live tracking has no time limit. Some users are always visible. Look at your Live tracking map. There is always the same guy here since forever. Maybe it's intentional or maybe b/c he forgot to turn off his live tracking. I think the time limit feature could be useful for Locus Live Tracking.