Range Estimate (time & distance to point ON track not the end of track)

morgan shared this idea 2 years ago
Gathering feedback

Locus devs...

As a motorcyclist both on and off road, I have been using Locus for many years, then got an iPhone and was forced to try other apps…mostly Osmand, then recently could not stand Osmand’s over complexity and jangle so broke down and got a (dedicated for gpx following) used android ip68 phone and returned to the best.

I would like to be able to:

1.Navigate to a waypoint/favorite in the middle of a track

2.Get distance and ETA to this waypoint/favorite in the middle of a track.

The reason for this is usually lunch, camping or hotel decisions on long trips. Example…I had a 1200+ mile track coming up from Miami and I wanted to know roughly what town would be closest to the track at dark for a hotel. Obviously if I didn’t care about running the exact track then googlemaps would solve this.

Surprisingly Osmand does this by navigating to a flag using a chosen track…I still think maybe locus can do this too somehow.

Here is what I have tried on Locus 4 latest build recently:

I do know there is “Analyzer” and this shows how many miles in from the beginning and to the end of the track but not how many miles from where I am to that click point and there is no time value.

I loaded a 310 mile track in to navigation, no recalculation. The time noted 65hrs for 310 miles…it should be 5-6 hrs but that is another issue…I would hope when driving at highway speeds it would immediately recalculate. It would be nice to be able to see correct data while not moving and just planning.

So in navigation mode on this 310 mile track at maybe 200 miles up roughly I clicked on it and it goes in to a Navigation screen…then looking at the elevation profile which gives me roughly the miles in to the track which helps but if I’m not at the start it does not tell me how many miles to where I clicked.